Shame on Stuart Appleby and his caddie for not knowing the rules at Whistling Straits. Stuart shot a 68 on Saturday, but was assessed a pair of two-stroke penalties on the par 5 16th hole.
Stuart thought the bunker outside of the yellow ropes was being played as "through-the-green". He not only moved dead grass but he also grounded his club. These violations turned his "par" into a quadruple bogey 9.
Here's what Stuart had to say "everyone has been walking through that bunker, so I didn't think it was a bunker, I could have saved four shots by reading a piece of paper inside the locker room."
Stuart Appleby, congratulations, you are the "Bonehead of the Day."